Solomini Disqualified, Loses Los Alamos Futurity

Solomini Disqualified, Loses Los Alamos Futurity

Solomini dug in his heels and came in first in a close three-horse battle in the Los Alamos Futurity, but he didn’t win.

A stewards’ inquiry moments after the finish resulted in a disqualification of Solomini for bumping into Instilled Regard, causing him to wobble slightly as he was sandwiched in between Solomini and McKinzie.

McKinzie was named the eventual winner, with Instilled Regard, the third-place finisher, rising to second place. Solomini was bumped down to third.

Solomini was as close as second entering the backstretch but fell back to fourth, while Instilled Regard, who started the race in last place, made his move along with McKinzie in the far turn. Solomini followed, and the stretch run was riveting as the three colts battled for the lead.

Solomini finally caught the other two horses, and that’s when the bump occurred. Solomini found another gear and managed to eke out a one-length victory. Or so it seemed.

The ruling by the judges was 2-1 against Solomini.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.